Disclosure: Some links in this article are affiliate links. We may earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
A follow focus looks simple: a wheel, a gear, a rod clamp. The trouble starts when you try to match one to a real lens. Gear teeth have to mesh with the focus ring, the clamp has to sit on the right rods, and a motor has to be strong enough, and powered, to turn the barrel. Buy the wrong combination and you own a very precise way to do nothing.
The product category has moved quickly. SmallRig has flagged its long-running mini follow focus as discontinued, Tilta's current flagship is now the Nucleus-M II, DJI announced the RS 5 gimbal in January 2026, and 2026 brought a new type of kit that lets the camera's own autofocus drive a manual cine lens. This guide covers lens fit first, products second. It is built from manufacturer specs and documentation rather than our own testing.
Start with the lens: gears, end stops and rods
Every follow focus works by meshing a drive gear with teeth on the lens's focus ring. The cinema standard for those teeth is 0.8 MOD, often written as 32 pitch. Cine lenses have the teeth machined into the barrel. Photo lenses usually do not, so they need an add-on ring that clamps around the focus barrel. Zeiss, for one, sells its own lens gear for the Otus, Milvus and Loxia families, and Tilta describes its seamless gear ring as the add-on that gives photographic lenses a 0.8 toothed surface so cinema follow focuses can grip them.
Two practical notes:
- Measure the focus ring first. Tilta's seamless rings come in 14 sizes, from 46.5-48.5 mm up to 88-90 mm, and each is engraved with its module number and matching lens diameter. A ring that is too big or too small will not hold.
- 0.8 is not the only pitch. Tilta says the Nucleus-M II also supports a 0.5 gear pitch, and it sells 0.5, 0.6 and 0.8 gears for its FF-T05 manual unit. Check which pitch your lens or ring uses before assuming anything fits.
Match the ring size to your focus barrel.
Check the Tilta Seamless Focus Gear Ring on Amazon
Rod standards
Rods are the second fit question. The consumer wireless motors in this guide (DJI Focus Pro, Tilta Nano II, SmallRig) all use 15 mm rods; the DJI RS Focus Motor (2022) uses a 12 mm rod; and Tilta's Nucleus-M motors clamp on 19 mm or 15 mm rods using the included bushings.
| Standard | Rod diameter | Spacing | Where you meet it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 mm LWS | 15 mm | 60 mm center to center | Most cages, gimbals and lightweight support |
| 15 mm Studio | 15 mm | 100 mm | Older studio-style baseplates |
| 19 mm Studio | 19 mm | 104 mm | Larger cinema rigs |
If your cage is the weak link, our camera cages and rigs buying guide covers rod mounts in more detail.
End stops and calibration
Cine lenses typically have mechanical end stops on the focus ring. Many photo lenses do not. That matters because motor systems work by learning the lens's travel. Tilta calls it lens mapping, and DJI's Focus Pro stores calibration data in the motor, recommends a two-point LiDAR calibration at 0.5 m and 5 m, and keeps profiles for up to 15 lenses in the Grip. A lens with no obvious end of travel is the case to confirm with the maker before you buy, because the makers do not promise that position memory holds on every photo lens.
Four kinds of follow focus
| Type | How it works | Suits |
|---|---|---|
| Manual | Hand wheel on rods, with A/B stops | Learning pulls, light rigs |
| Wireless motor kit | A hand wheel or handle talks to a motor on the lens | Gimbal operators, crewed sets |
| DJI Focus Pro | A LiDAR sensor measures distance and a motor turns the lens | Manual lenses on DJI RS gimbals |
| Camera-AF adapter | A Sony E-mount body's phase-detection data drives the motors | Manual PL cine lenses on supported Sony bodies |
Manual follow focus: SmallRig F60 and Neewer PG001
A manual unit has no motor, battery or radio: a drive gear, a wheel and A/B stops that make a pull repeatable.
SmallRig Modular Follow Focus F60. SmallRig's pages now flag its older 3010 mini follow focus family as discontinued, and the F60 (SKU 5163) is the current manual unit, listed as in stock on smallrig.com. Per SmallRig it has damping you can set between 0.6 and 1.8 kgf, a zero-backlash sync drive and a three-step quick switch for reversing the rotation direction. SmallRig's page does not list the gear module or the maximum lens diameter, so check the listing for both before you count on the 114 mm figure that applied to the older 3010. The older F60 (SKU 3850) is flagged discontinued, so match the 5163 number.
Check the SmallRig Modular Follow Focus F60 (5163) on Amazon
Neewer Mini Follow Focus with A/B Stops (PG001). Neewer lists a 15 mm rod and rod clamp, a gear ring for lens diameters up to 114 mm, aluminum alloy and plastic construction, and a weight of 320 g. The box holds the follow focus, the lens gear ring, a 15 mm rod, the rod clamp and a hex key. Neewer does not list the gear module or tooth count, so confirm the gear matches your ring before mixing parts between brands.
Check the NEEWER Mini Follow Focus with A/B Stops (PG001) on Amazon
On a gimbal every gram counts against the payload limit, which is one reason motor kits exist. Our gimbal vs handheld stabilizer comparison helps with that.
Wireless motor kits: SmallRig, Tilta Nano II and Nucleus-M II
Wireless kits replace the arm with a motor clamped near the lens and a separate hand wheel, so focus can be pulled from a separate wheel while both hands stay on the rig, or by a second operator. Torque, range and power all vary by maker, and the figures are quoted under different conditions, so read the table below as a rough guide, not a ranking.
| Motor | Maker's torque figure (N·m) | Stated condition |
|---|---|---|
| SmallRig Wireless Follow Focus Kit (Lite) | about 0.42 (SmallRig lists 4.3 kgf·cm) | peak |
| DJI Focus Pro Motor | 0.6 | at 8 V |
| Tilta Nucleus-Nano (original) | 0.65 | at 5.5 V |
| DJI RS Focus Motor (2022) | 1.0 | at 8 V |
| Tilta Nucleus-M (original) | 2.5 | at 14.8 V |
| Tilta Nucleus Nano II | no figure; Tilta says 5 times the original Nucleus-Nano | n/a |
| Tilta Nucleus-M II | no figure; Tilta says higher than the Nucleus-M and Nano II motor | n/a |
The SmallRig row is converted from kgf·cm. Figures taken at 8 V and at 14.8 V are not directly comparable, so match the voltage too.
SmallRig Wireless Follow Focus Kit (Lite)
SmallRig's page flags the 4296 as discontinued and lists a 4296B "Upgraded Version" as in stock; the company does not say what changed. Per SmallRig the kit has a built-in 1400 mAh battery with up to 21 hours of standby or usage, PD and QC fast charging, and memory that keeps the lens travel and A/B points after power loss. The receiver mounts on 15 mm rods. Indicator lights show the connection status and radio channel, and SmallRig does not publish a wireless range for this kit.
Check the SmallRig Wireless Follow Focus Kit (Lite) 4296B on Amazon
Tilta Nucleus Nano II
Per Tilta, the Nano II motor has five times the torque of its original Nucleus-Nano. It is designed for 0.8M pitch gears and 15 mm rods, and the kit includes a 0.8M gear ring (FR-T03). The hand wheel has a 1.6-inch circular touchscreen, with the main dial for focus and a dampened rocker for zoom or iris. Per Tilta the internal 1800 mAh battery gives up to 20 hours of continuous power, depending on use, and the system can run up to four motors (focus, iris, zoom and a Mirage VND) when you add the Control Handle.
Tilta publishes no wireless range for the Nano II. The 300 ft figure often repeated for the Nucleus Nano line comes from Tilta's page for the original Nucleus-Nano (WLC-T04), so do not assume it applies to the second generation.
Camera control depends on the body. Tilta lists full control for the RED Komodo and Komodo X and the Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera 6K and 6K Pro, and partial control for the BMPCC 4K, Sony FX3, A7S III, A7R V, ZV-E1 and ZV-E10, and Canon R7. Canon and Sony connect only over USB-C PD cables, Blackmagic only over Bluetooth.
Two compatibility notes. The Nano II motor needs Nano II firmware, and without the update it does not work with the Nano 1 hand wheel or Nucleus-M hand grips. And it works with DJI RS 2 and RS 3 Pro gimbals only through an optional receiver module that is not included in the kit.
The first link below is the base kit with the hand wheel and a motor. The second is the Motor Kit only, an extra motor with no controller. Amazon also lists the hand wheel on its own, so check the listing title.
Check the Tilta Nucleus Nano II Base Kit on Amazon
Check the Tilta Nucleus Nano II Motor Kit on Amazon (motor only)
Tilta Nucleus-M II
The Nucleus-M II is Tilta's current flagship, and the original Nucleus-M's address on tilta.com now leads to it. Per Tilta it drives up to four wireless motors (focus, iris, zoom and ND), includes both 15 mm and 19 mm rod mounts, supports 0.8 or 0.5 gear pitch and runs its hand unit on a single NP-F550 battery. It is compatible with the Nucleus-M system, can control the Nano II system and the Mirage motor, and works with the Blackmagic Camera App. A Range Expansion Module is sold separately, and Tilta gives no range figure on the M II page.
For reference, the original Nucleus-M is the one with published numbers: 2.5 N·m at 14.8 V, a 35-tooth 0.8 mod motor gear and a 1,000 ft range for the hand unit and hand grips, per Tilta.
Check the Tilta Nucleus-M II Ultimate Kit on Amazon
DJI Focus Pro and the RS focus motors
DJI's system adds a LiDAR time-of-flight sensor so the lens can follow subject distance. The sensor has 76,800 laser points, a 30 fps refresh and a range of 0.5 to 20 m. DJI's own FAQ clarifies that 0.5 to 10 m applies in the default 1x mode (30 mm equivalent), and 20 m only with the 2x zoom display. The built-in image sensor is described as 30 mm equivalent, and the system tracks up to five subjects, identifying people and vehicles.
What is in the box matters:
- The Creator Combo contains the LiDAR, the Grip, the Motor and a carrying case.
- The All-In-One Combo adds the Hand Unit.
- The Grip is powered only by the BG21 battery handle (it is interchangeable with the RS 3 and RS 4 handles), and that handle is not in the Creator Combo box.
- The Motor takes 6.6 to 17.2 V; third-party 2S to 4S batteries (7.4 to 14.4 V) are supported, and DJI recommends its D-Tap to USB-C cable.
Specs, per DJI:
| Part | Key figures |
|---|---|
| LiDAR unit | about 140 g; cold shoe or 1/4"-20 mount |
| Focus Pro Motor | 0.6 N·m and 300 rpm at 8 V; 30-tooth gear, module 0.8; 15 mm rod; about 123 g |
| Grip | 1.8" touchscreen; about 2.5 h runtime; stores calibration for 15 lenses; about 482 g |
| Hand Unit | 1.09" touchscreen; NP-F550 battery (not stated as included); 2.4 GHz; about 555 g without battery |
The Hand Unit's unobstructed range is 160 m under FCC rules and 100 m under CE, SRRC and MIC, a manufacturer claim that depends on your region. DJI says latency can be as low as 10 ms with the Hand Unit. The Hand Unit works only with a Focus Pro Motor and does not talk to the gimbal itself.
Gimbal compatibility is narrower than the name suggests. Per DJI's compatibility information, the Focus Pro LiDAR works only on the RS 4 Pro and RS 3 Pro, and so does ActiveTrack. On the RS 5, RS 4, RS 3 and RS 2, only the Focus Pro Motor (and the Hand Unit with restrictions) is supported. DJI says the RS 4 Pro can run two motors and the RS 4 one. With the RS 5, DJI says two Focus Pro Motors give joystick zoom and dial focus. DJI's store page lists Ronin gimbals, DJI Transmission, Ronin 4D and Inspire 3 as other compatible equipment, along with some third-party cinema gear.
Lens calibration is required after installation and after replacing the motor. DJI does not list a hard-stop rule for the Focus Pro on its pages, so check with DJI if your lens has no clear end of travel.
Check the DJI Focus Pro Creator Combo on Amazon
Check the DJI Focus Pro All-In-One Combo (adds the Hand Unit) on Amazon
Check the DJI Focus Pro Motor on Amazon (motor only, no LiDAR or Grip)
DJI RS Focus Motor (2022)
This is the older, simpler gimbal accessory, and its figures are often mixed up with the Focus Pro Motor's. DJI lists 1.0 N·m and 180 rpm at 8 V, a 30-tooth module 0.8 gear, a 12 mm rod, 45 dB operating noise, 80 x 50 x 36 mm and 108 g. DJI's store lists the RS 4 Pro, RS 4, RS 3 Pro, RS 3, RS 2, RSC 2 and Ronin 4D Flex. The RS 5 is not in that summary, though a separate DJI compatibility article marks it compatible, so check the current listing for your exact gimbal.
Check the DJI RS Focus Motor (2022) on Amazon
Camera-AF adapters for manual PL lenses
The newest category does not measure distance at all. Tilta's Nucleus Auto Focus Adapter (E to PL, WLC-T07) converts a manual PL lens to autofocus on a Sony E-mount body by using the camera's native phase-detection data to drive the Nucleus motors. Tilta says it works with the Nucleus-M II and Nano II motors, supports Sony Alpha and FX cameras up to the FX6 (the FX3, FX30, FX5 and FX6 are named), and does not support the Burano or FX9. A lens profile library is built in, manual override works only with the Nucleus-M II FIZ hand unit, and zoom and 2x anamorphic lenses are not supported in the current firmware. The adapter weighs 1.21 lb. The Dual Motor Kit comes with the adapter, a 15 mm rod adapter, two 15 x 100 mm rods, two Nano II motors, cables and an F970 battery plate.
Tilta launched it in 2026. Viltrox has a similar idea in the NexusFocus F1 (PL to E): its page describes native autofocus for manual PL lenses, three-channel FIZ, one-tap app calibration, a dust-sealed mount and a backlit display, and tags it as new. Check the current listing for stock and the supported cameras.
Check the Tilta Nucleus Auto Focus Adapter Dual Motor Kit (E to PL) on Amazon
Check the Viltrox NexusFocus F1 on Amazon
Which system fits which job
| If you are... | Look at | Check before buying |
|---|---|---|
| Learning pulls on a light rig | SmallRig F60 or Neewer PG001 | Gear module and maximum lens diameter |
| A solo gimbal operator with a manual cine lens | Tilta Nano II kit | Optional receiver module if you want to use a DJI gimbal |
| Running a crewed shoot or a vehicle mount | Tilta Nucleus-M II | Range Expansion Module and your own range needs |
| On a DJI RS 4 Pro or RS 3 Pro and want distance tracking | DJI Focus Pro combo | BG21 handle battery and lens calibration |
| On an RS 5, RS 4 or RS 3 and want a motor only | Focus Pro Motor | LiDAR is not compatible with these gimbals |
| A Sony FX user pairing a manual PL cine lens | Tilta Auto Focus Adapter | Supported body and lens |
Our gimbal stabilizer roundup lists the gimbals these motors are built around.
Frequently asked questions
Q: Do I need extra batteries for the DJI Focus Pro?
Possibly. The Grip runs only from the BG21 handle battery, and that handle is not in the Creator Combo. The Hand Unit uses an NP-F550 battery, and DJI does not state that one is included. The Motor itself can run from third-party 2S to 4S batteries.
Q: Can I run a Tilta Nano II motor from a DJI gimbal?
Yes, but not out of the box. Tilta says RS 2 and RS 3 Pro gimbals work through an optional receiver module that is not included.
Building the rest of the rig
A follow focus is only one piece of the support system. If you are pairing it with a camera monitor for checking focus off the camera's small screen, a slider or motorized dolly for moving shots, or a car or action mount, our guide to camera mounts for cars, phones and action setups covers the hardware. If your audio setup is the next thing on the list, see wireless microphone systems, and for carrying the whole kit, our camera bags and backpacks guide covers what fits.



